Querido Familia y Amigos!
How are you? This week I have really seen miracles and have felt the influence of the Spirit in my missionary life. Ive had a lot of thoughts
running through my head this week. Most of which concern my future family and the blessings that the gospel gives to families. This week I
had transfers, I am now in Guayaquil, Ecuador in a ward thats called Los Esteros. I know, I know.. like every two weeks I am somewhere different. Gotta love Ecuador! :)
This sector has so much success.. The church in general here in Guayaquil is HUGE. Seriously. I saw a GINORMOUS chapel building/institute building this week. Its so
cool. I love that the work is so strong down here. What a blessing.
 
My companions name is Hermana Carollo. Shes from Colorado and shes awesome. She has 2 more transfers than I do in the mission. She went to BYU-i before the mission.. Shes a doll. We are a super good team. We realize each others faults and really help eachother in the areas where the other companion is missing. For example, this week I had a super big desire to contact, (In this sector, there are CRAZY amounts of people just hanging out in the streets) So I kept getting this desire to do so, but she told me its a little weird to just start small talk with random people.. So I just followed my gut and opened my mouth..Which helped her feel comfortable teaching a short lesson/whatnot. We found a inactive member and other new investigators from following this prompting. Blessed life.
 
As of now, we have 7 progressing investigators (which means they are on target to get baptized in two weeks) and like 4-6 more that we are working with to progress. Man, I feel so grateful that the Lord trusts me enough to prepare this people/children for baptism. So we have 5 children that are getting baptized this next week.. Baptizing children is something we kind of avoid as missionaries because we dont want them to become inactive because they dont have support. I was a tad hestitant, not gonna lie. This week, I taught them.. and literally fell in love. They are golden. When I teach them, I think of 3 Nephi 17.. 
 
Verses that inspired me:
4: They are not lost unto the Father, for he knoweth whither he hath taken them...
5 .. and they did look steadfastly upon him as if they would ask him to tarry a little longer with them.
21.. The Lord blesses the children.. prays unto the father for them
24.. The children are encircled with fire and angels minister unto them
 
I just want to emphasize that the Lord loves these children. He loves them and understands their struggles individually. There whole lives have been a little disfunctional, a tad out of control and they havent been given the example that I have.. My entire life, Ive been increbily blessed with a family, a ward family nonetheless, morals and people to set me straight when I act out, but not everyone has this. I cant compare myself to the Savior because I am not even close to being so humble, loving and perfect, but seeing the light in their eyes when we teach reminds me of verse 5. They look upon us like we are their angels. We are helping them draw their path in this life, helping them develop attributes and know that they are children of God and he loves them. Ah. It makes me so happy. I just cant express how much joy these angels give me.
 
I realize how I want my future family to be. How important it is to have a mom and a dad and a loving family that can care for your needs. Not everyone has this and the gospel gives people this oppritunity, this light and ward family. The church is TRUE. Hasnt been any truer. The Truest.
 
Its true.
 
I just love to be a missionary! Im never coming home. Okay. Just kidding.
 
Please pray for me :)
 
Love always,
 
Hermana Bennett
 



Leave a Reply.

         Bienvenidos!

    I am Sister(Hermana) Bekah Bennett.  I will shortly be serving 18 months of my life on a church-based mission  in Guayaquil, Ecuador. I leave August 28th, 2013 and travel to the Mexico Missionary Training Center to better prepare myself for my mission & mission language. My blog at that point in time will be ran by my little sister E and my mom! I am grateful to serve my Lord and invite you to follow my journey! 

    XO,
    Sister B

    Archives

    August 2013
    July 2013

    Categories

    All
    Book Of Mormon
    Ecuador
    Guayaquil
    Lds
    Mormon
    Sistermissionary