Letting Go

Picture
Today has been a stomach wrenching, heartwarming, fuzzy feeling kind of day. I am at my 30 day mark. THIRTY DAYS. In one month, I will be tucked into bed at the Mexico CCM(MTC).  I will have kissed my father, mother, sister, three brothers, grandmas, friends and of course my dog Rex goodbye for 18 months, with faith that I will do what I need to do. I will willingly be giving up my time with them to do what my Lord would have me do. Is this scary? Yes. Am I scared? No. I have deeply contemplated my role as a missionary. I have firsthand seen the purpose of certain events in my life that have lead me to this point. Everything the Lord has placed in front of my was NOT always a part of my plan. Until I started college (grew up, a tad) and realized what I needed to succeed as  a Child of God, I was stuck in my own ways. I was stuck with my comfort zone, my ideas, possibly my own opinion and I was always right. Oh but I was wrong. 

One of my dearest friends names is Danielle Cook. Danielle has been a huge light of peace in my life, even when I have been blind-sighted in my own ways. She was my first roommate in college. We had many ups and downs, as does most roommates although through it all, I can still turn to her. My favorite thing about Danielle is that she can bring light and joy to any room. She constantly has a smile on her face and really believes that peace comes from Heavenly Father. One of the greatest lessons I learned from her in that short semester was how to let go of doubtful/fearful feelings. If I was having a rough day, Danielle was the first to notice and ask me "Are you ok?", she is so great at realizing others pains. She would follow this statement up by trying to calm me. She would take my hand and massage it and talk about certain aspects of my day that were negative. She would tell me to picture myself handing over that negative thought/sin/imperfection to the Lord. Danielle would wait patiently until I could actually picture myself doing so(Does that even make sense? lol) She is truly a treasure. I hope she doesn't mind me sharing this experience but I really took for granite these times. It has helped me lately get through my worries as well. Having only one month to go is nerve-wracking(Spelling?). It is so typical and almost inspired that she is leaving to Santiago, Chile exactly a month before me. She is the perfect person to pave the way into missionary work. I just love her and got to give her the biggest hug today. I wish I could put the hug in a time capsule and SAVE it. It was a tender mercy to see her and spend her final moments at home with her. See you in 18, hermana!






Leave a Reply.

         Bienvenidos!

    I am Sister(Hermana) Bekah Bennett.  I will shortly be serving 18 months of my life on a church-based mission  in Guayaquil, Ecuador. I leave August 28th, 2013 and travel to the Mexico Missionary Training Center to better prepare myself for my mission & mission language. My blog at that point in time will be ran by my little sister E and my mom! I am grateful to serve my Lord and invite you to follow my journey! 

    XO,
    Sister B

    Archives

    August 2013
    July 2013

    Categories

    All
    Book Of Mormon
    Ecuador
    Guayaquil
    Lds
    Mormon
    Sistermissionary